REVIEW: WHEN WE COLLIDED – Emery Lord (🇬🇧) (57/59)

Hey everyone! 💞  It’s Anna and today I am bringing you here an amazing book that I loved from the begginign to the very ending, and that is WHEN WE COLLIDED by Emery Lord. 

whenwecollidedI know, I know. I have tons of work to do for college, and tons of books to read for college as well. But I am not really in the mood to do it, aaaaaaaaand this book is amazing and I read it en English, so that counts as practicing my reading skills and as improving my vocabulary about random topics. See? I am being responsible.

OH, and before we start with the review: I haven’t given this book 5 out of 5 stars because yes, I loved it but there are some others I’ve loved more, so I decided to take half of a fruit out, just to be fair. Does that make any sense? I don’t think so, Anna. Thank you.

🍐 🍑 🍒 🍓 .5 / 5

Let’s just get into it, ok?

WHEN WE COLLIDED tells the summer of Vivi and Jonah in Verona Cove and how their lives came together. Vivi is spending the summer there with her mom, and shes’s deeply in love with the little town. Jonah, in the other hand, has always lived there with his family. There are six brothers and sisters that just lost their father, and almost their mother too, because she has not left bed since all happened. Jonah and his two older brothers are taking care of everyting.

And one daw, while painting mugs, Vivi mets Jonah and his littlest sister Leah, and that’s how she will become a really important and wild part of their lives.

Vivi is a very impulsive, cheerfull girl, that can not stop talking once she has started. But sometimes, this crazyness goes beyond its normal limits and we will find out the real reasin through the story. Jonah is very familiar and he cares so much about everyone he loves, even though that means that he forgets to care about his own happiness sometimes. And he must be God in the kitchen, because all the meals that appears along the story seem to be deeeeeeeeelicious. 🍔 🍕 🍖 🍗 🍘 🍚 🍛  I COULDN’T STOP EATING WHILE READING THIS BOOK! It made me hungry everytime. And both of them will complement each other perfectly, and they will be this part that was missing in the other’s life. And that is so so so beautiful, because life is not always as easy as books might make  us expect.whenwecollided1

Because, can you fall in love when you are falling appart? Life is complicated, and both of  them must deal with theirs and, besides, with all the feelings they are feeling.

This is not the first book, now I am thinking about it, I read about mental health. THE REST OF US JUST LIVE HERE by Patrick Ness was another great book, whose structure reminds me a lot of this one.

Vivi suffers this illness and Jonah’s mother is dealing with depression as well and I think the topic is brilliantly handled. I was able to know how it is to really have this disease, whose name we are so used to hear a million times everyday. It’s really hard to live with something bad that is just in your head, that you don’t understand, and WHEN WE COLLIDED shows us from two different points of view, and I loved it!

The structure as I said, reminds me a lot of Patrick Ness’ book. There’s not a true beginning or a true ending. Maybe there is a more reliable beginning-ending structure in this one, but it’s not really. It’s just a summer, since Vivi arrives in Verona Cove, till the end of the season. There’s no plot-twist or mystery we have to find out, it’s just two teens that bump into each other and that have to figure out how to be and how to deal with everyting that’s happening in their hearts.

20112709

Well, this is taking so much time. I looooooooooved this book with all my heart. I felt for every character. Vivi is super fun and happy, and Jonah is cute as hell. The English is easy to understand (💪💪/5), and I can not recomend this book enough. It got me into tears since the very beginning! 😭😭 But just because it’s  a really beautiful love – story, and not just romantic love, but familiar love and friendship and, above all, self-love.

Have you read this book? If so, pleaaaaaaaase tell me what do you think! If not, I don’t know what you are doing!!!!! It is pretty cheap on Amazon!

See you guys soon and enjoy your reading! 💞

Love you !

cuatro frutillas

 

Un comentario en “REVIEW: WHEN WE COLLIDED – Emery Lord (🇬🇧) (57/59)

Responder

